Community

The area now known as Port Jefferson Station was first called by the Native American name "Comsewogue."  The name "Echo" was also used. 

The first Colonial resident, William Tooker, had arrived by 1750.

In 1873, the Long Island Rail Road arrived to provide service to nearby Port Jefferson, providing the hamlet's name.

The primarily farming community began to experience suburban growth following the construction of Nesconset Highway in the mid 1950s.

By the early 1970s, it had become a primarily suburban community.